CHEO Research Institute Logo
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text SizeFacebookTwitterYoutube

coordinators at a seminar  
What's New rss


Government of Canada Invests in the Innovative Leaders of Tomorrow - Minister Rickford Announces Funding at Université Laval

The CHEO Research Institute is proud to announce that Kristina Allan, current member of Dr. David Stojdl's lab, is a recipient of a prestigious Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship! Congrats, Kristina!

Below is the official announcement, with permission to re-print from CIHR:
QUEBEC - Sept. 23, 2013 - The Honourable Greg Rickford, Minister of State (Science and Technology) today announced 165 new recipients of the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships and 70 new recipients of the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships. These awards provide the best doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers from Canada and from around the world studying in Canada with the support they need to conduct world-class research while enhancing Canada's standing as a global centre of excellence in research, innovation and higher learning.

"Through the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships and Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships programs, our Government is investing in the innovative research leaders of tomorrow," said Minister Rickford. "The recipients of these prestigious awards are carrying out research that promises to produce breakthroughs in many fields and make significant contributions to enhancing Canada's social and economic growth."

Minister Rickford made the announcement while visiting his alma mater Université Laval where he met a group of Vanier Scholars and Banting Fellows. They included Mylène Riva who received a Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship in 2011. Her research focused on increasing our understanding of the socioeconomic and geographic factors that affect cardiovascular health in Canada's northern communities. Now an assistant professor at Université Laval, Dr. Riva continues her work to produce knowledge that will help improve the health of northern Canadians.

"We are very proud of our Vanier and Banting award holders being honoured today. Their contribution to the advancement of research is exceptional and valuable for society. Their pride in excellence matches that of our professors-researchers and their teams," notes Dr. Denis Brière, Rector at Université Laval. "I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate our faculty members, who together have distinguished themselves in Canada and internationally by the high quality of their teaching and research."

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships and Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships are Canada's most prestigious programs for doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers, respectively, working in the health sciences, natural sciences and engineering, and social sciences and humanities. Both programs are funded through the three federal research granting agencies - Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).

"These programs demonstrate Canada's commitment to promoting research excellence and to helping Canadian universities attract the best and brightest doctoral candidates and postdoctoral researchers," said Dr. Alain Beaudet, President of CIHR, on behalf of the three federal research granting agencies. "Over the next few years, the recipients of these awards will be advancing knowledge in health sciences, engineering, social sciences, humanities and natural sciences and emerging as leaders in their fields on the world stage."

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships program is designed to strengthen Canada's ability to attract and retain world-class doctoral students. Vanier Scholars demonstrate exceptional leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement. Scholarship recipients receive $50,000 per year for up to three years of research. The 165 new Vanier Scholars announced today represent students from Canada, the United States, Europe, the Middle East, South America, Africa and Asia pursuing doctoral degrees at universities across Canada.

For a list of the 2012-2013 Vanier Scholars, please visit:

The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships program is designed to attract and retain world-class postdoctoral talent, develop their leadership potential and position them for success as the research leaders of tomorrow. Banting Fellows are selected on the basis of demonstrated research excellence, leadership and synergy with the research priorities of the host institution. Fellowship recipients receive $70,000 per year for up to two years of research. The 70 new Banting Fellows announced today represent postdoctoral researchers from Canada, the United States, Europe, South America, the Middle East and Asia who will be carrying out innovative research projects at Canadian universities as well as leading research institutions abroad.

For a list of the 2012-2013 Banting Fellows, please visit:

Take Action
Quick Links

Our Researchmagnifying glass

abcefg hijklmnopqrst uvwxyz